Help! What Should I Title Stella’s Biography?

I was thinking. People who don’t know who Stella Adler is might wonder who this book is about if it’s titled: “Stella! A Life in Art”

And did anyone get the allusion to Stanislavski’s “My Life in Art”?

Ahhh, there’s the rub. I need a catchy title that clearly identifies WHO the book is about, but “Stella Adler: A Biography” is so boring!

I want to use Stella! to evoke Brando’s bellow in “A Streetcar Named Desire” since he is Stella Adler’s most famous student. 

With your help, I’m taking a poll:

If you have any ideas, please share in the comments below.

3 responses to “Help! What Should I Title Stella’s Biography?

  1. I think that ‘Stella! A Life in Art’ would be just fine. I’d definitely leave out her last name – sounds less formal. People who don’t know Stella can always find out about her by reading the back of the book or something 😉 I don’t really like the ‘Grand Dame’ thing either. Also, I think that ‘A Life’ is not specific enough – I mean, what kind of a life?! ‘A Life in Art’ sums it up perfectly well, I would think. 🙂 Alternatively, you could also call it ‘A Life for Art’… Either way, since you know her so well I’m sure you’ll make the right decision!

  2. What about:   (in large font)                                     She Taught the Masters   or   Teaching the Masters (smaller font on next line down)     The life of acting legend Stella Adler   Good luck!

    ________________________________

  3. Thanks for your two cents, Louisa and Rick!

Leave a Reply

